IGF 2020 Parliamentary Roundtable

Tuesday, 10th November, 2020 (17:00 UTC) - Tuesday, 10th November, 2020 (18:30 UTC)
Room 1
About this Session

IGF 2020 Parliamentary Roundtable

Building trust in a time of COVID-19 response and post-COVID-19 recovery‎



    Parliamentarians are among various important stakeholder groups that participate at the ‎annual ‎meeting of the Internet Governance Forum (IGF), in policy dialogue on data, inclusion, security ‎and ‎other areas related to Internet governance. In November 2019, at the 14th meeting of IGF, the ‎first-‎ever parliamentary session was convened as part of the main programme, and a key outcome ‎was ‎delivered as “The Jimmy Schulz Call: Messages from the parliamentarians”‎

    The IGF 2020 will also feature a Parliamentary Roundtable high-level session to support continuity and linkages between the annual meetings of IGF ‎‎with other global, regional and national legislative bodies. ‎The Parliamentary Roundtable is scheduled on 10 November 2020 at 17:00-‎‎18:30 hrs UTC. The interactive discussion between members of parliaments from all parts of the world, will focus on ways of building trust in the COVID-19 time and how people can recover from it.



    • Dr. Andy Williamson, Senior Researcher, Centre for Innovation in Parliament, Inter-Parliamentary Union 


    Opening remarks: 

    • Mr. Liu Zhenmin, UN Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs
    • Mr. Martin Chungong, IPU Secretary General



    • Mr. Manuel Höferlin, Germany 
    • Ms. Margarita Escobar, El Salvador 
    • Mr. Alexander Khinshtein, Russian Federation
    • Ms. Biodun Olujimi, Nigeria
    • Mr. Mattia Fantinati, Italy 
    • Mr. Krzysztof Gawkowski, Poland
    • Ms. Marina Kaljurand, European Parliament
    • Ms. Florence Levy, Nicaragua 
    • Mr. José Antonio Zepeda, Nicaragua
    • Mr. Hasanul Haq Inu, Bangladesh



    (The draft output document was subject for consultations by 17 November).


    The Parliamentary Roundtable is co-organized with the Inter-Parliamentary Union.




    List of the so-far registered members of parliaments